ggFTW

MMORPG Gamer Community


Go Back   ggFTW Forum > Off Topic > Computers & Technology > Technical Issues

League of Legends
Looking for a new MMO?

Try 

League of Legends

Rating:  

8.3

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
07-02-2010   #1 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default Monitor unable to get past loading (therefore computer = broken)

I've already made a thread about this on ijji, so I'll link the thread there for those willing to fix my issue, that way you can see what ijji users have suggested.

Computer problems. - ijji Forums

So here's my problem.

When I "turn my computer on", aka press the power button, on the monitor nothing comes up.

Normally, when I turn on the monitor power by pressing the button, a green light is shown below the button to indicate the computer is active. I suppose this is the computer sending the information to display on the monitor.

However, an orange light is shown instead. This indicates the computer is inactive or no power signal is being sent. My issue is either one of these 2 or both.

The cause of this is probably my fault. I've done forced reboots/turn off the computer, causing loss of memory data. The result is the computer has failed to load up the data.

Any suggestions, besides reformatting? Ijji users have suggested switching the power cable for the computer hard drive with a new one.
__________________

 
Get rid of this ad by registering for our community.
07-02-2010   #2 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default

Is there no help...? Q_Q
__________________

 
07-02-2010   #3 (permalink)
Madoka★Magica
Special
Kotarou's Avatar
ggFTW Pro
Games
Lucent HeartAi Sp@ceEden EternalDivina Online
Awards Retired Division HeadEvent WinnerFacebook FanTwitter FanPervert Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Malaysia (Kay Ell) Waifu: Yune Amagiri
Posts: 3,705
Blog Entries: 5
iTrader: (0)
Kotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond repute
IGN: PSO2: Shizuru
Class: Bouncer 75 | Fighter 71 lu_eir
Default

Tried with another monitor yet?

Tried with another signal cable?

Tried using analog instead of digital cable? (or vice versa?)
__________________
 
07-02-2010   #4 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default

I have no other monitor.

Don't have another signal cable (...at the moment).

One ijji forumer says that I should replace the power cable (the one that plugs into an outlet, connects to the PC for power)


I'm just wondering if there is any other solution to this or if others believe the above is the right solution.
__________________

 
07-02-2010   #5 (permalink)
/gg FTW! Regular
oXdacyXo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Idiot Ville
Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)
oXdacyXo will become famous soon enough
IGN: oXdacyXo
Class: Idiotic Puppeteer lu_dacy
Level: 9
Guild: MMOKami
Default

I think the the video cable connecting to the monitor is at fault.

Oh by the way did you mean that you are able to see the bios splash screen before the monitor went into standby mode?
__________________
 
07-02-2010   #6 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
SilentSaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 自分の幻想
Posts: 1,423
iTrader: (0)
SilentSaber has a spectacular aura aboutSilentSaber has a spectacular aura aboutSilentSaber has a spectacular aura about
Class: MME
Level: -2147483647
Guild: YetAnotherUC
Default

Try with a different graphics card?
__________________
Human history is the story of complaisance. While disaster is fresh in our memory, we take precautions. But as the memory of disaster recedes, we start to take risks.
 
07-02-2010   #7 (permalink)
Madoka★Magica
Special
Kotarou's Avatar
ggFTW Pro
Games
Lucent HeartAi Sp@ceEden EternalDivina Online
Awards Retired Division HeadEvent WinnerFacebook FanTwitter FanPervert Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Malaysia (Kay Ell) Waifu: Yune Amagiri
Posts: 3,705
Blog Entries: 5
iTrader: (0)
Kotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond reputeKotarou has a reputation beyond repute
IGN: PSO2: Shizuru
Class: Bouncer 75 | Fighter 71 lu_eir
Default

Easiest way is to test first with another monitor... It might be that it's your graphics card having a problem, and not your monitor. '-'/

Try plugging this monitor to another PC?
__________________
 
07-03-2010   #8 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
SilentSaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: 自分の幻想
Posts: 1,423
iTrader: (0)
SilentSaber has a spectacular aura aboutSilentSaber has a spectacular aura aboutSilentSaber has a spectacular aura about
Class: MME
Level: -2147483647
Guild: YetAnotherUC
Default

If you have an older main board, it might have a built in gpu. You can try that if you arn't already using it.
__________________
Human history is the story of complaisance. While disaster is fresh in our memory, we take precautions. But as the memory of disaster recedes, we start to take risks.
 
07-03-2010   #9 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default

I'll try with a different graphics card first. (Though I don't know how to switch them `-` waiting for my brother to come back from vacation)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oXdacyXo
I think the the video cable connecting to the monitor is at fault.

Oh by the way did you mean that you are able to see the bios splash screen before the monitor went into standby mode?
1. Turn on computer

2. Turn on monitor

3. Nothing happens on monitor at all
__________________

 
07-03-2010   #10 (permalink)
fat fat fat fat fat PIG
PROBLEMS BUTA?!
Special Games
Aika OnlineAll Point Bulletin (APB)Alliance of Valiant ArmsAsda Story
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,490
iTrader: (0)
buta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If you can't hear your computer's hard drive whirring/reading, then it's probably your computer's end that has the problem. Given that the BIOS screen doesn't even popup, it may be a problem with the BIOS which prevents you from starting up.

You can try clearing the CMOS and hope that solves the problem.

If you don't even see the BIOS screen, you won't be able to reformat. If it were the hard drive's problem, you would see at least the BIOS screen.
__________________
 
07-03-2010   #11 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

Any beeps coming off from your PC when you switch it on?
Did the power light on the PC light up normally? Does it have irregular blinking?
Try draining the power completely by switching off the mains and holding the power button on the PC for 10s then switch on the mains and the PC and see if it works.
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist
 
07-07-2010   #12 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default

There is no irregular blinking, beeping or abnormal noise of sort coming from the computer.

Whenever I turn my computer on, Nothing appears on the monitor at all even from the start of turning on the computer.

Because of this I have to turn it off.

So here's another symptom, possibly : When I want to turn it off, just one push or after 2-3 seconds it turns off.

Normally, before this problem, it would have taken 5 seconds to turn the computer off.


Still haven't tried the graphic card switching method.

And, it is very possible the computer will need to be replaced.

I haven't tried replacing the ram yet. The reason because I cant really unscrew the screws to the hard ware and stuff. That job is for my older brother.
__________________

 
07-19-2010   #13 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default

UGHH more suggestions, just in case


Okay so uh, the monitor is still broken after getting a new graphics card. Very fortunately, my cousin is an expert in computer science and is helping me with the problem.

So, we both hypothesize that it is not the motherboard. There is no abnormal beeping of sort.

It may be that I inserted the graphics card incorrectly, but i'm sure I did. Though it seems to hang off the edge of the screwing slightly...

Everything is plugged in. Power cable, etc. and monitor still doesn't work.

So we both figure it is the monitor causing the problem.

i bump this for suggestions (which one will likely come from replace monitor) but for now i'm waiting for my cousin to get an answer and hopefully solve this problem.
__________________

 
07-19-2010   #14 (permalink)
Forum Operations Manager
Pouty Princess ☆
Light's Avatar
Games
Guild Wars 2LuniaConquer OnlineElsword
Awards Most Valuable StaffAdmin AwardMoM AwardPervert Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CanadaLand
Posts: 6,446
Blog Entries: 4
iTrader: (0)
Light is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervertLight is the ultimate pervert
IGN: Light, Yucie
Class: Kanna
Level: 208
Default

My fathers monitor once appeared to have died, but it was just the backlight that didn't turn on.

If you point the monitor on an angle and have lights on in the room, can you faintly see anything?
It's best done with a flashlight or desk lamp pointing light from the sides of the monitor.

If you see anything, then the backlight may have died on you, and that means you need to replace the monitor.
Warranty will cover that.
__________________

+Rep if I help you. | Guides: Lunia's Client Editing Guide / How to ggFTW!

Last edited by Light; 07-19-2010 at 06:14 PM.
 
07-19-2010   #15 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default

There is no faint view of bios screen or whatever. NOTHING appears. NOTHING at all. It's just a blank black screen like it was never turned on.
__________________

 
07-19-2010   #16 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

Press the menu button on the monitor and see if anything comes up? (If there is nothing, it is definitely the monitor)
Does your monitor have DVI and VGA? Try switching to the other if nothing the other doesn't work.
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist
 
07-20-2010   #17 (permalink)
I set fire to the rain
1stsim144's Avatar
Games
Dragon NestLuniaValkyrie SkyDungeon Fighter Online
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 4,062
iTrader: (0)
1stsim144 is a splendid one to behold1stsim144 is a splendid one to behold1stsim144 is a splendid one to behold1stsim144 is a splendid one to behold1stsim144 is a splendid one to behold1stsim144 is a splendid one to behold1stsim144 is a splendid one to behold1stsim144 is a splendid one to behold
IGN: Erliana
Class: Spirit Dancer lt_blader
Level: 70
Guild: Excallibur
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrincessLenne
There is no faint view of bios screen or whatever. NOTHING appears. NOTHING at all. It's just a blank black screen like it was never turned on.
So... Go buy a new monitor then since you've been saying that the monitor didn't show anything at all.. As if it is in 'turned-off' mode?

BUT you do hear 'noises' from your cpu right? As in fan.. etc etc.. But it's just blank on monitor.. Hmm. Do you hear Windows startup music?
__________________
 
07-20-2010   #18 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default

see next post
__________________


Last edited by PKShota; 07-20-2010 at 03:44 PM.
 
07-20-2010   #19 (permalink)
#1 Leon fan
PKShota's Avatar
Games
VindictusMabinogiLuniaElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shotaland
Posts: 3,206
iTrader: (0)
PKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond reputePKShota has a reputation beyond repute
Guild: Titans/ggFTW
Default

okay this is FREAKING RIDICULOUS

ijji thread : Scratch me coming back, computer is FAIL. - ijji Forums

our the new monitor is broken. I don't know how. What I do know is it's something with the computer. Possibly the motherboard.

Now, both of my monitors are "unable to receive signals" from the CPU. It's probably something wrong with the motherboard or something else inside, probably a hidden virus.

My dad and I used our new monitor for his VCR cable tv and it works. So it is likely a CPU problem.

But this just sucks.


But yeah, my monitors broke and now I can't do ANYTHING.
__________________

 
07-21-2010   #20 (permalink)
fat fat fat fat fat PIG
PROBLEMS BUTA?!
Special Games
Aika OnlineAll Point Bulletin (APB)Alliance of Valiant ArmsAsda Story
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,490
iTrader: (0)
buta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Again, try resetting the CMOS. Or replacing the battery that is on your motherboard. A computer that turns on and doesn't load anything most likely means the BIOS is having problems or is failing to load stuff.

And a no signal screen on the monitor does not mean that they are broken. Merely that there is no signal. Which makes sense given that your computer isn't turning on as you have said.
__________________
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Business Tycoon Online
Need a new browser game?

Try 

Business Tycoon Online

Rating:  

7.7
Hide this banner by registering for our community.