ggFTW

MMORPG Gamer Community


Go Back   ggFTW Forum > Off Topic > Computers & Technology > Technical Issues

Aika Online
Looking for a new MMO?

Try 

Aika Online

Rating:  

7.6

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
01-28-2012   #1 (permalink)
You're my prince... =)
Yumidesu's Avatar
Games
Dungeon Fighter OnlineLeague of LegendsLuniaTrickster Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MS, US
Posts: 2,105
Blog Entries: 4
iTrader: (0)
Yumidesu has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to Yumidesu Send a message via AIM to Yumidesu Send a message via MSN to Yumidesu Send a message via Yahoo to Yumidesu Send a message via Skype™ to Yumidesu
IGN: Amiez
Level: Bronze League
Guild: Titans
Xfire: pandaamy
Default [FIXED!] My GFX card's video port is...not working. Halp?

Well, to begin from the beginning.

About a month ago, my old monitor messed up. Details are irrelevant. Anywho, I bought a new monitor.

LG E2360V 23 LED Backlit Monitor Black by Office Depot

Looks like that. Not exact. It's a LG E2260. But, yeah. Bought a new one. Worked for two weeks.

One morning, it wouldn't come on. Turned the computer on, off, on, off, etc. Did this about three times. It displayed the video. Since then, I haven't really turned the computer off. I've shut it down a few times since then, but no problems. Until this morning. I tried EVERYTHING. I tried reseating the card. Turning the computer off and on repeatedly. Did it, literally, over a hundred times. Not good for the computer, I know. I was desperate. Tried cleaning the fan on the card. The heatsink. The card itself. A different video cable. A different monitor. Everything. So, I plugged it into my on board video port. It works, but it's on board... and it's horrible. I can't really play anything.

I'm going to take the monitor and the video card to my computer store Monday to see if they can fix either. Hoping it's not the video port. But, if it is the video port (which is what I assume now, after checking solutions on the site for the monitor) I dunno what I'd do. So, if it is the port, will I have to just let them fix it or what?

Last edited by Yumidesu; 01-29-2012 at 03:12 PM. Reason: Fixed the problem! :)
 
Get rid of this ad by registering for our community.
01-28-2012   #2 (permalink)
Planeswalker
RoflKnife's Avatar
ggFTW Star
Games
ElswordDungeon Fighter OnlineDragon Nest
Awards Retired Content StaffEvent WinnerPervert Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,011
iTrader: (0)
RoflKnife has disabled reputation
Default

By port...you mean the VGA/DVI/HDMI port on your GFX card that connects to your monitor, right?
__________________
 
01-28-2012   #3 (permalink)
You're my prince... =)
Yumidesu's Avatar
Games
Dungeon Fighter OnlineLeague of LegendsLuniaTrickster Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MS, US
Posts: 2,105
Blog Entries: 4
iTrader: (0)
Yumidesu has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to Yumidesu Send a message via AIM to Yumidesu Send a message via MSN to Yumidesu Send a message via Yahoo to Yumidesu Send a message via Skype™ to Yumidesu
IGN: Amiez
Level: Bronze League
Guild: Titans
Xfire: pandaamy
Default

Yeap. The blue one.
 
01-28-2012   #4 (permalink)
Planeswalker
RoflKnife's Avatar
ggFTW Star
Games
ElswordDungeon Fighter OnlineDragon Nest
Awards Retired Content StaffEvent WinnerPervert Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,011
iTrader: (0)
RoflKnife has disabled reputation
Default

Well you can check if it's the port or the card that's bad. Just run dxdiag and if one of the tabs displays your GFX card info, then the card should be fine, but the display port is busted. (Well if the card is busted, maybe your PCI-E port died somehow too, but that's very unlikely in this situation.)

In the dead card case, I don't think it's repairable, unless you send it to the manufacturer or something. In the display port case, it might be repairable. Never heard of it being repaired before, but maybe it's just a bad solder or something. More likely to be repairable than a dead card though. Not much you can do in cases like this. Most people would just send it back for another using warranty or something.
__________________
 
01-28-2012   #5 (permalink)
You're my prince... =)
Yumidesu's Avatar
Games
Dungeon Fighter OnlineLeague of LegendsLuniaTrickster Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MS, US
Posts: 2,105
Blog Entries: 4
iTrader: (0)
Yumidesu has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to Yumidesu Send a message via AIM to Yumidesu Send a message via MSN to Yumidesu Send a message via Yahoo to Yumidesu Send a message via Skype™ to Yumidesu
IGN: Amiez
Level: Bronze League
Guild: Titans
Xfire: pandaamy
Default

Dxdiag displays my on board video, rather than the card.

I don't see how my card magically becomes undetectable, or it "dies" overnight. The fan on the card still works, but that's about it I think. Lol.
 
01-29-2012   #6 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

you can test the port if the card has other output like s-video, hdmi or dvi
just plug it into another monitor or a TV

check if you have another PCI-E on the motherboard

If it is dead, usually you can't fix it or it doesn't really makes sense to fix it unless it is under warranty.
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist
 
01-29-2012   #7 (permalink)
You're my prince... =)
Yumidesu's Avatar
Games
Dungeon Fighter OnlineLeague of LegendsLuniaTrickster Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MS, US
Posts: 2,105
Blog Entries: 4
iTrader: (0)
Yumidesu has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to Yumidesu Send a message via AIM to Yumidesu Send a message via MSN to Yumidesu Send a message via Yahoo to Yumidesu Send a message via Skype™ to Yumidesu
IGN: Amiez
Level: Bronze League
Guild: Titans
Xfire: pandaamy
Default

Okay, well... still not sure what the problem is. Kind of. I know my PCI-E slot isn't detecting my card. My card also isn't under warranty anymore, as far as I know.

So, I went into device manager. And I saw this:

http://puu.sh/f1jv

ATI Radeon 5700 is my card. So my computer knows it's there. The other is my on board video. So, I go to Properties. And it shows this.

http://puu.sh/f1kg

It's... never done that. What exactly do I do?
 
01-29-2012   #8 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

google that free resources
it is an irq conflict which has no proper solution.

Try disabling all the unrequired stuff in bios like serial port, parallel port
let windows manage the irq if possible.
all these settings are modified in bios
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist
 
01-29-2012   #9 (permalink)
You're my prince... =)
Yumidesu's Avatar
Games
Dungeon Fighter OnlineLeague of LegendsLuniaTrickster Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MS, US
Posts: 2,105
Blog Entries: 4
iTrader: (0)
Yumidesu has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to Yumidesu Send a message via AIM to Yumidesu Send a message via MSN to Yumidesu Send a message via Yahoo to Yumidesu Send a message via Skype™ to Yumidesu
IGN: Amiez
Level: Bronze League
Guild: Titans
Xfire: pandaamy
Default

Fixed it. Talked to a friend about it. He told me to this:

1. Uninstall drivers and software.
2. Shut down computer.
3. Take out video card.
4. Boot up to Windows using on board video.
5. Shut down.
6. Put card back in.
7. Boot up again.
8. Reinstall drivers.
9. Put video cable into video card's video port.

Did, it worked. <3
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Business Tycoon Online
Need a new browser game?

Try 

Business Tycoon Online

Rating:  

7.7
Hide this banner by registering for our community.