ggFTW

MMORPG Gamer Community


Go Back   ggFTW Forum > Off Topic > Computers & Technology > Technical Issues

League of Legends
Looking for a new MMO?

Try 

League of Legends

Rating:  

8.3

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
11-02-2011   #1 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
Special Games
La TaleTrickster OnlinePangyaROHAN: Blood Feud
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (156)
Aria has disabled reputation
Default Must Firefox lag so bad?

I've been getting this a lot lately. Firefox, with 3-4 tabs open, eats over 900,000 KB of memory. When I'm browsing and posting on these forums (for example), browsing is extremely laggy and there is also a huge delay in the text appearing as I type into these reply boxes. Even after closing a bunch of programs, leaving only iTunes, MSN and Firefox itself open, the lag persists. I'm so frustrated now that I've caved in and gone back to Chrome, whose only disadvantage is that it doesn't enable user scripts like NoScript.

Any tips or advice? I really like Firefox, I do, but the lag is just driving me nuts and makes me want to bash my head against a wall.
 
Get rid of this ad by registering for our community.
11-02-2011   #2 (permalink)
hibernating
Special
Henreh's Avatar
Games
All Point Bulletin (APB)GunboundTwelve Sky 2Grand Fantasia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,806
iTrader: (0)
Henreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Henreh
Class: Bro lt_warlord
Level: 21
Default

clear your cache
 
11-02-2011   #3 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
Games
La TaleCosmic BreakDungeon Fighter OnlineElsword
Awards Pervert Award
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 517
iTrader: (0)
mikecxz will become famous soon enough
Default

i often browse with 7 or 8 tabs open and i NEVER get up that high, it usually sits around 200k~ but it does spike to 500k~ sometimes. make sure you regularly clear cashe as henreh said.
 
11-02-2011   #4 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
Special Games
La TaleTrickster OnlinePangyaROHAN: Blood Feud
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (156)
Aria has disabled reputation
Default

My cache only took up 509 KB of memory. Cleared it now. Not sure if this will make things better but we'll see. >:

Scrolling up and down this page still doesn't feel as smooth and unhindered as it does in Chrome. No idea why.
 
11-02-2011   #5 (permalink)
hibernating
Special
Henreh's Avatar
Games
All Point Bulletin (APB)GunboundTwelve Sky 2Grand Fantasia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,806
iTrader: (0)
Henreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Henreh
Class: Bro lt_warlord
Level: 21
Default

which version are you using? you should get ccleaner and run a clean plus a registry scan and fix. if you haven't already, you should check miyuki's guide or check this out.

5 Tips To Reduce Firefox Memory and Cache Usage

chrome > all btw.
 
11-02-2011   #6 (permalink)
Phat booty is <3
prison's Avatar
Games
Trickster Online
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York >:
Posts: 1,848
iTrader: (9)
prison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond reputeprison has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to prison
IGN: [Banned from TO All over]
Level: xxx
Guild: God of War
Default

21 tabs, mostly streaming porn and youtube atm. = 600k.
you must be doin' something wrong .-.
__________________
 
11-02-2011   #7 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
Special Games
La TaleTrickster OnlinePangyaROHAN: Blood Feud
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (156)
Aria has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prison
21 tabs, mostly streaming porn and youtube atm. = 600k.
you must be doin' something wrong .-.
Even with just 3 tabs open in Chrome, one of them streaming music, my Chrome memory usage is almost as high as some people's Firefox. God knows what I'm doing wrong.

Spoiler!
 
11-03-2011   #8 (permalink)
▄█▀█●
Special
Catharsis's Avatar
Games
Trickster OnlineIkariamSword 2La Tale
Awards Retired Forum ManagementEvent Winner
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Westeros
Posts: 2,297
Blog Entries: 16
iTrader: (0)
Catharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond reputeCatharsis has a reputation beyond repute
Default

How many extensions do you have on? Those slow down your browser sometimes.
__________________
Not all those who wander are lost.
 
11-03-2011   #9 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
Special Games
La TaleTrickster OnlinePangyaROHAN: Blood Feud
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (156)
Aria has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catharsis
How many extensions do you have on? Those slow down your browser sometimes.
Currently 11. Two are disabled, another two have just been removed, another is Memory Fox (ironic) and the rest are pretty much stuff I use regularly.

Spoiler!
 
11-03-2011   #10 (permalink)
wat?
DarkRayne's Avatar
Games
Anarchy OnlineAionAtlantica OnlineFinal Fantasy XIV
Awards Facebook Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 861
iTrader: (0)
DarkRayne has a spectacular aura aboutDarkRayne has a spectacular aura aboutDarkRayne has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to DarkRayne
Class: Sith Assassin lt_sorcerer
Guild: Omega Matrix
Xfire: d4rthsid
Default

McAfee siteadvisor and avast! WebRep? Which AV do you use?
__________________


 
11-03-2011   #11 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
Special Games
La TaleTrickster OnlinePangyaROHAN: Blood Feud
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (156)
Aria has disabled reputation
Default

Uhm, you mean Avast? It's the free version.
 
11-04-2011   #12 (permalink)
wat?
DarkRayne's Avatar
Games
Anarchy OnlineAionAtlantica OnlineFinal Fantasy XIV
Awards Facebook Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 861
iTrader: (0)
DarkRayne has a spectacular aura aboutDarkRayne has a spectacular aura aboutDarkRayne has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to DarkRayne
Class: Sith Assassin lt_sorcerer
Guild: Omega Matrix
Xfire: d4rthsid
Default

What I mean is, why do you run addons of two av programs?
Removing one won't solve your current problem, just out of curiosity.
__________________


 
11-04-2011   #13 (permalink)
ggFTW Fan
Adura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)
Adura has disabled reputation
Default

Get rid of Avast... and McAfee? why do you have two antivirus programs? use Microsoft Security Essentials and your brain.

As for those Firefox extensions, consider disabling DownThemAll until you're sure you're going to download a lot of stuff, or use it in a different Firefox profile and run it via shortcut with:
-p -no-remote
at the end, the latter allows you to run two instances of FF at once if you must download with DownThemAll while surfing with your usual profile.

Make sure the Greasemonkey scripts you run aren't bloated, run less of them, or just disable Greasemonkey.

I stopped using NoScript since its creator went and tried to meddle with another extension, to replace it I used RequestPolicy and haven't looked back.

Though you didn't show an image of the Plugins you have, the only one I have enabled is Flash.

Lastly, if you want an optimized version of Firefox, try Palemoon. It's a tweaked build of Firefox that should help with performance issues on some level.
 
11-04-2011   #14 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
Special Games
La TaleTrickster OnlinePangyaROHAN: Blood Feud
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (156)
Aria has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adura
Get rid of Avast... and McAfee? why do you have two antivirus programs? use Microsoft Security Essentials and your brain.
I obviously don't.

McAfee Site Advisor isn't even an antivirus program, it's an add-on that indicates on every website whether that site is considered safe, risky or unknown. The only reason I have that is because avast! WebRep is pretty useless; I didn't even know I had that installed till I checked.

McAfee SiteAdvisor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Use my brain? Right. I'll go through all my add-ons according to your suggestions, but your condescending remark is not appreciated.
 
11-04-2011   #15 (permalink)
Ayu
雲散霧消
Ayu's Avatar
Games
ACE OnlineAir RivalsCosmic BreakGunZ
Awards Event WinnerFacebook FanPervert Award
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 東京,日本      Uguu: 97,387
Posts: 990
Blog Entries: 2
iTrader: (0)
Ayu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond reputeAyu has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Ayu
Default

Guys, calm down please. D:

What OS are you using?

Did you try Henreh's suggestions? Chrome IS the best, people can say whatever they want, but it's the most memory friendly internet browser by far.

If you have the same problem with several browsers, then you might want to start looking into the software on your computer.

But uh, make sure you use the latest Firefox build (given you wanna keep using that browser).

The thing about Chrome is that every tab has its own session in the task manager. This is a nice way to end tabs that start misbehaving, but that's not really relevant to this anyway, sorry.

You should try Hen's suggestions and then let us know how it went~. You might wanna try disabling all the add-ons and extensions and see if it helps. Then you can re-enable them one by one to look for the sinner(s).
__________________


Tumblr Twitter Last.fm
☆ 3DS: 3883-6119-6754
 
11-04-2011   #16 (permalink)
ggFTW Fan
Adura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)
Adura has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyn
I obviously don't.

McAfee Site Advisor isn't even an antivirus program, it's an add-on that indicates on every website whether that site is considered safe, risky or unknown. The only reason I have that is because avast! WebRep is pretty useless; I didn't even know I had that installed till I checked.

McAfee SiteAdvisor - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
I'd get rid of it. Or, disable it and see how things go at least. Having to check so many sites, especially when many popular sites request things from many other domains, is taxing on your resources.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyn
Use my brain? Right. I'll go through all my add-ons according to your suggestions, but your condescending remark is not appreciated.
It wasn't meant to be a remark on your intelligence, rather the mental effort required to use Windows safely that some people don't make.
 
11-04-2011   #17 (permalink)
ggFTW Stalker
Special Games
La TaleTrickster OnlinePangyaROHAN: Blood Feud
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,324
iTrader: (156)
Aria has disabled reputation
Default

@Ayumi: Yeah, I tried his suggestion. The memory usage has been fluctuating a lot, anywhere from 200 KB to the 719 KB it is now, and I have only two tabs open currently.

@Adura: Sure, no problem. I'll get rid of as much unused stuff as I can; I'll keep NoScript though - I haven't had a single trojan, virus or anything since I started using that.
 
11-04-2011   #18 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

If you have really do have 2 Antivirus please uninstall one
They might just keep scanning each other eating up your CPU resources.

You can try running firefox in safe mode and see if you have the same problem
Safe Mode | How to | Firefox Help

The rest is all trial and error, you have to enable one addon at a time and monitor them yourself.
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist
 
11-05-2011   #19 (permalink)
wat?
DarkRayne's Avatar
Games
Anarchy OnlineAionAtlantica OnlineFinal Fantasy XIV
Awards Facebook Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 861
iTrader: (0)
DarkRayne has a spectacular aura aboutDarkRayne has a spectacular aura aboutDarkRayne has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to DarkRayne
Class: Sith Assassin lt_sorcerer
Guild: Omega Matrix
Xfire: d4rthsid
Default

Go with what kag mentioned and run in safe mode and perform your usual tasks and check your performance difference.
Adblock and NoScript definitely are not the issue.
Generally the amount of memory usage is directly in line to what you're doing in your browser, that being said, in most cases FF and Chrome use about the same amount of memory under a normal circumstance. It just seems less with Chrome because you have multiple instances rather than one.

Offtopic - imo there isn't a truly superior browser, it all really boils down to each user's preference and what they like because they all essentially function the same. Personally I still use FF because I have a specific addon setup I like and refuse to move onto another, like chrome, to setup the way I like it. Hell, even IE9 isn't that bad.
__________________


 
11-05-2011   #20 (permalink)
Of Course i blive in god!
Ladynoosy's Avatar
Games
Trickster OnlinePangyaLa TaleOurWorld
Awards Facebook Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Server Fantasia Center mega<3
Posts: 1,131
Blog Entries: 9
iTrader: (2)
Ladynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond reputeLadynoosy has a reputation beyond repute
IGN: noosy 。✪
Class: Meow to_cat
Level: to much chara but i love them <3 8 kitties~2 lion~2sheepy~1bun bun ~
Guild: Master SoulCalibur<3
Xfire: nooosy
Default

i love Firefox like you.. i never try to change it '' its start

freeze my pc for while :l i removed it form my pc


then i listen to my friend... told me use Google chrome more faster and Great ... i dont

have any porb open Trickster online and many tap google chrome > my pc never freeze
__________________

Sprite By~Rydia
~im playing only At Fantasia

Last edited by Ladynoosy; 11-07-2011 at 01:45 PM.
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


DarkOrbit
Need a new browser game?

Try 

DarkOrbit

Rating:  

5.8
Hide this banner by registering for our community.