ggFTW

MMORPG Gamer Community


Go Back   ggFTW Forum > MMO Games > LaTale > LaTale Tech Issues

Elsword
Looking for a new MMO?

Try 

Elsword

Rating:  

8.7

 
LinkBack (11) Thread Tools Display Modes
03-01-2009   11 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default Lag Semi-Fix (Requires Regisitry Editing)

Do this at your own risk. Please follow all instructions thoroughly.
Most gamers have already done this at sometime... but this will improve the game play by a bit. For me this completely removed all the lag.

You are going to need to edit your registry.

First Do this
1. Click Start
2. Click Run
3. Type into the box regedit and enter
4. There should be a box now move onto PART A.


PART A - TcpAckFrequency - The location you need to edit is HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\
1. Click HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
2. Click SYSTEM
3. Click CurrentControlSet
4. Click Services
5. Click Tcpip
6. Click Parameters
7. Click Interfaces
8. There are going to be a lot of random numbers/letters here. They will look something like this {7DBA6EDA-FAE8-4002-A28F-4D2B57AE8094}.
9. Open up command prompt (look below for help)
10. Type in ipconfig/all
11. Now there should be a list of IP address and such
12. Go back to your regedit window and go through all the stuff there and see if you can find the one with the same information as the one in the command prompt window.
13. Now right click the area
14. Choose add new DWORD
15. Type in TcpAckFrequency (Case Sensitive)
16. Now right click the new entry
17. Click modify
18. Now change the value to 1 (default value is 2, basically deleting the entry)


PART B - TCPNoDelay - Location in you need to edit is HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\MSMQ\Paramet ers
If you cannot find the location it means you need to install the program. Microsoft Message Queuing
1. Click HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
2. SOFTWARE
3. Microsoft
4. MSMQ
5. Parameters
6. There should be a TCPNoDelay alreayd if not then do this:
a. Right click
b. Add DWORD
c. Name it TCPNoDelay (case sensitive)
d. Right click and modify to 1 (default is 2)
Command Prompt
1. Click Start
2. Click Run
3. Type cmd

I hope this helps anyone, but it's not a permanent fix.

Make sure to restart your computer to see any difference.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lazirusienca
I figured out how to install MSMQ onto Vista if it doesn't have it.

START
RUN
Type CMD

In Command Prompt enter

ocsetup MSMQ-Container;MSMQ-Server;MSMQ-Triggers

That should run the optional program installer, and for me it ran in the background, it didn't show up but after a few minutes of waiting, i checked the REGEDIT and it was there.

Happy happy joy joy.
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601

Last edited by Shugi; 01-26-2010 at 09:26 AM.
 
Get rid of this ad by registering for our community.
03-02-2009   #2 (permalink)
/gg FTW! Addict
Setyroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Aeria
Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)
Setyroth will become famous soon enoughSetyroth will become famous soon enough
IGN: Setyroth
Class: Bard / Warlord lt_bard
Level: 12x / 9x
Guild: Nocturne
Default

Maybe your setting will have an effect on lag but what I have is delay; those tricks wont work. =P

(I've tried them; entered the game only to find it full of lag)

*reverts registry back*

EDIT

If full-fix would mean something like removing that 20% bandwith limit windows reserves for itself, then no that will likely not help either I'm afraid. =(

Last edited by Setyroth; 03-02-2009 at 08:29 AM.
 
03-02-2009   #3 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default

It should normally make it better, if it lagged even more that would mean you made a mistake somewhere or your connection can't handle it.

What this fix does is lets your computer send packets with absolutely no delay.
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601
 
03-02-2009   #4 (permalink)
/gg FTW! Addict
Setyroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Aeria
Posts: 286
iTrader: (0)
Setyroth will become famous soon enoughSetyroth will become famous soon enough
IGN: Setyroth
Class: Bard / Warlord lt_bard
Level: 12x / 9x
Guild: Nocturne
Default

I never said it made it worse; and I do realise what its trying to do more then you think. I've had LaTale installed on different computers with different connections, considering how even after a update with a almost empty server the very annoying delay in controls is still there its obviously not related to how good the connection is but rather the fact those of us who have the problem are in Europe (or some other region far away from the server).
 
03-02-2009   #5 (permalink)
ggFTW Lurker
lovelyrosely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)
lovelyrosely is on a distinguished road
Default

What if I cant find the same info from the cmd to the registry editor?
 
03-02-2009   #6 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default

Find the most similar ones.

The distance problem well cant really be resolved by any tweaks...
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601
 
03-03-2009   #7 (permalink)
MMOG Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
lazirusienca is on a distinguished road
Default

Shugi, I'm finding that microsoft server program can't be set up on Vista. When I heard your from Canada, I rushed to this thread to try it out, if you have had success, maybe I could aswell.

I think if I was able to set it up like you have, and get on a strong good connection the lag would be gone, and delay halfed or gone. At my friends house (same town) the delay isn't as bad as it is here :S. Also after Part A, it feels a bit better but I can't really say for sure.

Any thoughts on Vista users, besides downgrading to XP

=P
 
03-04-2009   #8 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default

I'm using Vista. The microsoft message queuing should be pre installed on all vista machines. I don't know how to acquire it on vista if it's not already installed. =/
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601
 
03-04-2009   #9 (permalink)
MMOG Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
lazirusienca is on a distinguished road
Default

I figured out how to install MSMQ onto Vista if it doesn't have it.

START
RUN
Type CMD

In Command Prompt enter

ocsetup MSMQ-Container;MSMQ-Server;MSMQ-Triggers

That should run the optional program installer, and for me it ran in the background, it didn't show up but after a few minutes of waiting, i checked the REGEDIT and it was there.

Happy happy joy joy.
 
03-04-2009   #10 (permalink)
Rie
Vera Benedictio
Rie's Avatar
Games
La TaleEmil Chronicle OnlinePangyaRagnarok Online
Awards Event Winner
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,970
Blog Entries: 2
iTrader: (8)
Rie is a splendid one to beholdRie is a splendid one to beholdRie is a splendid one to beholdRie is a splendid one to beholdRie is a splendid one to beholdRie is a splendid one to beholdRie is a splendid one to behold
Default

Eh I Followed the guiide and it seemed to have worked on me @_@; Not Lagging anymore. But the Delay Remains. better than before i guess ;p thanks for posting this shugi.
 
03-04-2009   #11 (permalink)
/gg FTW! Regular
citrustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)
citrustang is on a distinguished road
IGN: citrustang
Class: Club Templar~ lt_templar
Level: 11X
Guild: Kirameki
Default

I'll give this a try. Thanks shugi!
 
03-08-2009   #12 (permalink)
/gg FTW! Stalker
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 360
iTrader: (0)
Aura is on a distinguished road
IGN: Vorpal
Class: Warlord/Blader lt_warlord
Level: 156
Default

Hm... finally tested this, as LaceyBun stated, the delay is still there. I live in US myself, on the east coast and yet I see some people from maine and flordia have better latency than me -_-. Really don't know how the delays works too much but, you'd seriously have to have some good connection and location to even do dash-and grab-ladders or skip ladders. I still get the same stupid delay lag glitch whenever I even attempt to dash for ladders. Even worse when I get wind walk casted on me and I try to grab ladders.
 
03-09-2009   #13 (permalink)
A Distant Visionary.
Fayt's Avatar
Games
La Tale
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 989
iTrader: (0)
Fayt is just really niceFayt is just really niceFayt is just really niceFayt is just really niceFayt is just really nice
IGN: Aurelius
Class: Bladerr. lt_blader
Level: 170.
Guild: ShiningRay
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aura
Hm... finally tested this, as LaceyBun stated, the delay is still there. I live in US myself, on the east coast and yet I see some people from maine and flordia have better latency than me -_-. Really don't know how the delays works too much but, you'd seriously have to have some good connection and location to even do dash-and grab-ladders or skip ladders. I still get the same stupid delay lag glitch whenever I even attempt to dash for ladders. Even worse when I get wind walk casted on me and I try to grab ladders.
I'd really like to know what your connection speed is, seeing as how I live on the east coast myself with latency issues myself. Some other people from the east coast have no problems running and grabbing a ladder, as well as ladder skipping. I know for a fact that my super weak internet connection is causing me lag/latency, and it should clear up once I get an upgrade.
__________________
Aurelius: 17x Strider; Revery: 18x Saint; Kuzonoha: 17x Ruin Walker.
Afff...no more triple word score D:
ShiningRay Blog.
 
03-09-2009   #14 (permalink)
/gg FTW! Stalker
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 360
iTrader: (0)
Aura is on a distinguished road
IGN: Vorpal
Class: Warlord/Blader lt_warlord
Level: 156
Default

Well, I have verizon dsl, with the 7.1 Mbps plan, so yeah it should be quite enough for a game like this seeing as how I used to run 1.5mbps with other games that use up more graphics than this game. As stated by several GMs on their forums, its always some kinda distance issue.
 
03-09-2009   #15 (permalink)
ggFTW Moogler
Amanos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
Posts: 165
iTrader: (0)
Amanos is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Could anyone from Europe , provide his experience with this guide ?.
 
03-09-2009   #16 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aura
Well, I have verizon dsl, with the 7.1 Mbps plan, so yeah it should be quite enough for a game like this seeing as how I used to run 1.5mbps with other games that use up more graphics than this game. As stated by several GMs on their forums, its always some kinda distance issue.
Your router or computer connections aren't set up right. That's probably why you lag. I live further away from the server than you and I have the same connection as you.

Just wondering but are you using Vista + Wireless?
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601
 
03-09-2009   #17 (permalink)
/gg FTW! Stalker
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 360
iTrader: (0)
Aura is on a distinguished road
IGN: Vorpal
Class: Warlord/Blader lt_warlord
Level: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shugi
Your router or computer connections aren't set up right. That's probably why you lag. I live further away from the server than you and I have the same connection as you.

Just wondering but are you using Vista + Wireless?
Using windows xp service pack 3, duo core 3ghz, 2gig ram, directly plugged into my router rather than using wireless. I can try and test to see if there's much of a difference between plugged into my router vs plugged into the modem itself to see if it makes any difference. However, as of yet, my laptop with wireless and my desktop directly plugged in seem to have the same issues without messing with any configurations (my laptop is a vista unfortunately).
 
03-09-2009   #18 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default

Ping google server please.

Open command prompt and type ping google.com, then post the results.
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601
 
03-09-2009   #19 (permalink)
No
Teleclast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 626
iTrader: (1)
Teleclast is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Teleclast Send a message via MSN to Teleclast
Default

Thank you kind sir.

For anyone wondering, I'm running Vista 64-bit and it worked fine for me.

I live in Miami, Florida. It got rid of just about all my lag. There is still some, but it's very minimal, and I don't have the problems anymore between attacking, however I can't change between attacking and moving swiftly enough, but that is just a proble with most crap being server side, and nothing will really fix that short of them getting smart.
__________________
 
03-10-2009   #20 (permalink)
Needs more cute stuff
Manabi's Avatar
Games
La TalePangyaCabal Online
Awards Event WinnerMoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,395
iTrader: (1)
Manabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant futureManabi has a brilliant future
IGN: Manabi/Joxina/Fatechan
Class: RW/Blader/Bard lt_treasurehunter
Level: 175/107/111
Guild: ShiningRay / AnimeBlogger
Xfire: ManabiLT
Default

This may help some people, but at least some of the lag problems are definitely on the server side. Channel 5 crashed a few hours ago while I was on it, ever since then I haven't been able to run + grab ladders. Before that channel crash I was doing so with no problems. This isn't the first time I've seen this happen either, I suspect the channel crashes are either causing serious server instability or it's some kind of serious server instability that causes the channel crashes. Either way it generally doesn't improve until they do the next update, which is probably cause the server gets rebooted then. Do note, I'm not saying don't try this, just pointing out that some of the issues aren't fixable by us, we have to hope OGP will fix the server too.

Another thing you can check for to help improve your lag: make sure nothing is doing any uploading while you're playing. Even if it's not using much bandwidth it can still cause horrible lag, the La Tale client is apparently extremely sensitive to upload latency. I discovered this because I use BackBlaze for backups and while it never causes issues in other games, with La Tale it does. I have to make sure I disable it on all my PCs while playing. Also you may experience problems with upload latency during peak traffic times if you're on cable. The way cable internet works there can be problems with upbound network capacity from your neighborhood. I see problems every day starting around 5pm once people get home from work. Fortunately I can generally still run + grab ladders but I can definitely tell when more people start using the Internet.
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://ggftw.com/forum/latale-tech-issues/40666-lag-semi-fix.html
Posted By For Type Date
OGPlanet Forums: Server move...again(GMs Please read) This thread Refback 08-12-2013 12:13 PM
OGPlanet Forums: Server move...again(GMs Please read) This thread Refback 08-01-2013 09:18 AM
Delay issues This thread Refback 11-17-2012 03:30 PM
Delay issues This thread Refback 11-17-2012 02:43 PM
OGPlanet Forums: StepByStep on how to get rid of/decrease the lag! This thread Refback 07-07-2009 08:35 AM
OGPlanet Forums: A whole lot of solutions for you!! This thread Refback 06-16-2009 05:57 PM
OGPlanet Forums: A whole lot of solutions for you!! This thread Refback 06-14-2009 04:31 AM
LaTale online. Interested? - Page 450 - Hidden Street Forum This thread Refback 04-19-2009 07:19 AM
LaTale online. Interested? - Page 450 - Hidden Street Forum This thread Refback 04-18-2009 11:17 PM
LaTale online. Interested? - Page 450 - Hidden Street Forum This thread Refback 04-18-2009 10:27 PM
LaTale online. Interested? - Page 450 - Hidden Street Forum This thread Refback 04-18-2009 09:39 PM

Pockie Ninja
Need a new browser game?

Try 

Pockie Ninja

Rating:  

8.3
Hide this banner by registering for our community.