ggFTW

ggFTW (http://ggftw.com/forum/)
-   Eden Eternal General Chat (http://ggftw.com/forum/eden-eternal-general-chat/)
-   -   PvE design flaws (http://ggftw.com/forum/eden-eternal-general-chat/100218-pve-design-flaws.html)

m1s3ri 08-05-2011 11:38 AM

PvE design flaws

So now that I've been playing for a few months and have seen what appears to be all of the level 50 content ... here's how I feel about PvE overall.

1. Class archetype balance
Melee DPS top charts early in a half-decent group (that is, don't sit in AOEs that will kill you, get AOE dispel/heal support as necessary from healers). Not a big deal, as they're also the DPS position most at risk from boss AOE or instantly dying when they pull aggro on trash mobs. However ... ranged DPS don't bring much to the table over melee (Engineer's Heavy Artillery is pretty much it). Magic DPS, in turn, bring their own problem --

2. Attack speed vs. Cast speed
100% Attack Speed = 100% more autoattacks made; in other words, it only doubles your autoattack output, which itself is less than half your damage. On the other hand, 100% cast speed reduces your cast speed by 100%, and this affects everything a caster does. It's true that all you need to do is gear enough Cast Speed to get your casts down to 1 second and then animation cancel, but this means casters scale much better than other classes. Of course, they start off pathetically weak, but there's still a severe imbalance here where poorly geared mages are pretty useless, then become incredibly difficult to surpass in damage when supported by --

3. Illusionists
Because of how effective Cast Speed is, Illusionist's Stimulation is a huge, huge boost to all Healers and Magic DPS and still moderately useful to animation-canceling Tank/Melee/Ranged DPS. In addition, Mind Surge makes MP completely and utterly meaningless. This renders MP Potions obsolete and destroys a lot of --

4. Player options in combat