ggFTW

MMORPG Gamer Community


Go Back   ggFTW Forum > Off Topic > Computers & Technology

Elsword
Looking for a new MMO?

Try 

Elsword

Rating:  

8.7

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
03-07-2011   #1 (permalink)
fat fat fat fat fat PIG
PROBLEMS BUTA?!
Special Games
Aika OnlineAll Point Bulletin (APB)Alliance of Valiant ArmsAsda Story
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,489
iTrader: (0)
buta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond repute
Default CPUs

Is there an easy way to see what pin-type CPU your computer needs without counting the pins on your current CPU?

Do motherboards of a certain type only take one type of CPU (or like, would knowing my motherboard know what type of CPU it can take or is it still up in the air)?

I'm looking to upgrade it since my CPU seems to be the bottleneck of my system, but I lost most of the information regarding my computer's innards somewhere.

And... I had another question, but I dumb so I ask later.

Thanks for your help!
__________________
 
Get rid of this ad by registering for our community.
03-07-2011   #2 (permalink)
hibernating
Special
Henreh's Avatar
Games
All Point Bulletin (APB)GunboundTwelve Sky 2Grand Fantasia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,806
iTrader: (0)
Henreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Henreh
Class: Bro lt_warlord
Level: 21
Default

your motherboard tells you what cpu type it supports. example AMD AM2+,AM3 or intel 1155,1156. most likely if your cpu is the bottleneck then the motherboard that supports it won't support the cpu you're upgrading to.
 
03-07-2011   #3 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

There are some differences like where are the notches.
Visual differences are obvious only if you have seen them before.

But the easiest way is just to look at the model of the motherboard or the CPU codenames and search it online.
CPU socket - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist
 
03-08-2011   #4 (permalink)
fat fat fat fat fat PIG
PROBLEMS BUTA?!
Special Games
Aika OnlineAll Point Bulletin (APB)Alliance of Valiant ArmsAsda Story
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,489
iTrader: (0)
buta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond reputebuta has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I checked and it's an AM2 slot.

Is it the FSB that limits the motherboard's compatibility or some changing convention that's used in making CPUs?
__________________
 
03-09-2011   #5 (permalink)
I like scenery *.*
CursedScar's Avatar
Games
LuniaDragon Nest
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,677
iTrader: (0)
CursedScar is just really niceCursedScar is just really niceCursedScar is just really niceCursedScar is just really nice
IGN: TangoDown
Class: Ryan lu_sieg
Level: 8x
Guild: Fusion
Default

It's usually Pin number, but occasional Chip-set is also a limiting factor. For instance, (Although this is an older example), even though my old mobo had a LGA 775 CPU Pin slot, it was unable to accept anything past Pentium 4 due to its lack of a more advanced chip-set. I'm not sure if this applies to AMD so much as to Intel.
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


DarkOrbit
Need a new browser game?

Try 

DarkOrbit

Rating:  

5.8
Hide this banner by registering for our community.