ggFTW

MMORPG Gamer Community


Go Back   ggFTW Forum > Off Topic > Computers & Technology

Perfect World
Looking for a new MMO?

Try 

Perfect World

Rating:  

7.4

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
03-06-2011   #1 (permalink)
.png
HolyAbyssal's Avatar
Games
World of WarcraftLa TaleLuniaElsword
Awards Retired Forum ModeratorFacebook Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: veebee
Posts: 1,770
Blog Entries: 5
iTrader: (0)
HolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via MSN to HolyAbyssal Send a message via Skype™ to HolyAbyssal
IGN: HolyAbyssal
Class: indecisive
Guild: We Sit on Staves
Default Opinions on Graphics Cards?

I happen to be looking for looking for a graphics card, since I just have a chipset that came with my computer. Been suffering from horrible FPS in WoW recently, so I thought to look for one (being low on funds as I am). The problem is that I need a card that's built for a desktop computer (will have pics down below), and I have no idea what most terms and jargon for techie speak is, and no eHow articles or anything of that sort seem to work for me.

lolpicsofhardware pictures by HolyAbyssal - Photobucket

^pics of motherboard

Figured out I have 1 PCI port? And looking at this card atm
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100253HDMI Radeon HD 4650 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Low Profile Ready Video Card
__________________
lolpoisons @ Mal'Ganis(H)
 
Get rid of this ad by registering for our community.
03-06-2011   #2 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

What's the current specs?
You can use Start -> Run -> dxdiag to check
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist
 
03-06-2011   #3 (permalink)
.png
HolyAbyssal's Avatar
Games
World of WarcraftLa TaleLuniaElsword
Awards Retired Forum ModeratorFacebook Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: veebee
Posts: 1,770
Blog Entries: 5
iTrader: (0)
HolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via MSN to HolyAbyssal Send a message via Skype™ to HolyAbyssal
IGN: HolyAbyssal
Class: indecisive
Guild: We Sit on Staves
Default

Spoiler!



All of it, copypasta'd

I have 4gb ram, just I haven't upgraded to w7 64-bit from my shoddy xp
__________________
lolpoisons @ Mal'Ganis(H)
 
03-06-2011   #4 (permalink)
ggFTW Regular
GreenGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)
GreenGod will become famous soon enough
Default

That white slot is a PCI slot. That's for really old video cards or other miscellaneous cards (sound or wireless for example). But there seems to be a black slot above it in the third picture. That could be your AGP slot, used for somewhat old video cards. Also, if you try to use it you would need to put your hard drive elsewhere, as it probably won't fit.

For video card slots it's PCI < AGP < PCI Express. It looks like your motherboard has the first 2, but the HD 4650 needs the third.
 
03-06-2011   #5 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

Judging from the specs i think the PC has PCIE

What's the model name and number?

EDIT: Oh wait nm i saw it

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/A-and-M-...tre/m-p/249575

The ultra small form factor doesn't have PCIE.
What's the full model name/number?
It should be something like this (M58-7359-A23)

You should upgrade to 64 bit as well if you intend to get a graphics card cause 32bit can only address 4GB of memory inclusive of your graphics card.
eg. if you buy a 512MB graphics card, you would be able to only use 3.5GB of system RAM the other 512MB will not be usable.
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist

Last edited by kag; 03-06-2011 at 10:02 AM.
 
03-06-2011   #6 (permalink)
.png
HolyAbyssal's Avatar
Games
World of WarcraftLa TaleLuniaElsword
Awards Retired Forum ModeratorFacebook Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: veebee
Posts: 1,770
Blog Entries: 5
iTrader: (0)
HolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via MSN to HolyAbyssal Send a message via Skype™ to HolyAbyssal
IGN: HolyAbyssal
Class: indecisive
Guild: We Sit on Staves
Default

From looking at the dxdiag, the model is 7483CTO

edit: The stickers on the bottom of it and such have the same number on them also.


Oh also, I got this computer custom (parents got it, not me) for christmas last year so no idea why it has no PCI-E slots.
__________________
lolpoisons @ Mal'Ganis(H)

Last edited by HolyAbyssal; 03-06-2011 at 10:42 AM.
 
03-06-2011   #7 (permalink)
ggFTW Regular
GreenGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)
GreenGod will become famous soon enough
Default

From the dxdiag and the pictures, it looks like this would be the manual for your motherboard (Lenovo m58p 7483):
http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub...df/46r4690.pdf

So, the black slot should actually be a PCI Express. If you look closer around it, you might find it labeled. If not, a close up image might be enough to identify it.



It should be like the PCI Express x16 from the picture.
 
03-06-2011   #8 (permalink)
.png
HolyAbyssal's Avatar
Games
World of WarcraftLa TaleLuniaElsword
Awards Retired Forum ModeratorFacebook Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: veebee
Posts: 1,770
Blog Entries: 5
iTrader: (0)
HolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via MSN to HolyAbyssal Send a message via Skype™ to HolyAbyssal
IGN: HolyAbyssal
Class: indecisive
Guild: We Sit on Staves
Default

Yes, it is an PCIE x16.
I just checked it, so this widens my horizons for some cards.
__________________
lolpoisons @ Mal'Ganis(H)
 
03-06-2011   #9 (permalink)
Derpin' Herpin'
Metty's Avatar
Games
LuniaSD Gundam Online: Capsule FighterRusty HeartsAika Online
Awards MoM AwardPervert Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,041
Blog Entries: 26
iTrader: (0)
Metty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant futureMetty has a brilliant future
Send a message via Skype™ to Metty
Default

I personally use a 1GB 5750 worked great with WoW.
__________________

 
03-06-2011   #10 (permalink)
hibernating
Special
Henreh's Avatar
Games
All Point Bulletin (APB)GunboundTwelve Sky 2Grand Fantasia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,806
iTrader: (0)
Henreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond reputeHenreh has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Henreh
Class: Bro lt_warlord
Level: 21
Default

no matter how good your video card will be, your CPU will limit the video cards performance.
 
03-06-2011   #11 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default

Before suggesting anything, can you make sure that a video card will even fit in the case? You need 2 brackets in the back for the video card to fit.
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601
 
03-06-2011   #12 (permalink)
Resident Lurker
Firzin's Avatar
Games
VindictusTera OnlinePhantasy Star Online 2
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 842
iTrader: (0)
Firzin is a jewel in the roughFirzin is a jewel in the roughFirzin is a jewel in the rough
Default

You probably need to upgrade your power supply too. Seems like your computer only comes with a 280 watt PSU.
__________________
 
03-06-2011   #13 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default

I read through the entire thread again and it seems that there are quite a lot of upgrades you will need to do. I personally would say it's not worth spending any more money on your current system. I would suggest either waiting it out until it dies or spend a little more for a custom built new system. Manufacturer built systems have too many constraints, a lot of it being physical. BTX casing is a pain to work with.
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601
 
03-06-2011   #14 (permalink)
.png
HolyAbyssal's Avatar
Games
World of WarcraftLa TaleLuniaElsword
Awards Retired Forum ModeratorFacebook Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: veebee
Posts: 1,770
Blog Entries: 5
iTrader: (0)
HolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via MSN to HolyAbyssal Send a message via Skype™ to HolyAbyssal
IGN: HolyAbyssal
Class: indecisive
Guild: We Sit on Staves
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shugi
I read through the entire thread again and it seems that there are quite a lot of upgrades you will need to do. I personally would say it's not worth spending any more money on your current system. I would suggest either waiting it out until it dies or spend a little more for a custom built new system. Manufacturer built systems have too many constraints, a lot of it being physical. BTX casing is a pain to work with.
As I was reading the review of multiple cards, I dawned upon the same solution.

I think I'll just wait it out, because by then I'll be able to afford my own system (hopefully), and such.

Thank you all for the help though.

..wonder if I can play Rift on it though..
__________________
lolpoisons @ Mal'Ganis(H)
 
03-07-2011   #15 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

If you intend to budget you can get AMD Llano APU
It shouldn't cost much and it should be able to do some light gaming.


Do consider this option if you want to save on discrete graphics and keep your whole case small.
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist
 
03-07-2011   #16 (permalink)
.png
HolyAbyssal's Avatar
Games
World of WarcraftLa TaleLuniaElsword
Awards Retired Forum ModeratorFacebook Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: veebee
Posts: 1,770
Blog Entries: 5
iTrader: (0)
HolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to beholdHolyAbyssal is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via MSN to HolyAbyssal Send a message via Skype™ to HolyAbyssal
IGN: HolyAbyssal
Class: indecisive
Guild: We Sit on Staves
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kag
If you intend to budget you can get AMD Llano APU
It shouldn't cost much and it should be able to do some light gaming.


Do consider this option if you want to save on discrete graphics and keep your whole case small.
Thanks for the vid, I may consider it when I get around to purchasing a new PC. Not yet though, this one is still fine c:
__________________
lolpoisons @ Mal'Ganis(H)
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Pockie Ninja
Need a new browser game?

Try 

Pockie Ninja

Rating:  

8.3
Hide this banner by registering for our community.