ggFTW

ggFTW (http://ggftw.com/forum/)
-   Computers & Technology (http://ggftw.com/forum/computers-technology/)
-   -   new computer hmm? (http://ggftw.com/forum/computers-technology/37439-new-computer-hmm.html)

Goldie 01-31-2009 07:10 PM

new computer hmm?

For my birthday (april 2nd) I'm thinking of getting a new computer (just a CPU thingy already have a new monitor etc etc)

im wondering are there any good computers i should look for that are good for gaming that are under 1.3K , I would get alienware but i don't think my parents would want to spend too much.

Are those like 4 gig ram and 512 mb video cards good?I'm no pro with computers but i know some stuff.

P.S I live in canada and i usually just go to Best buy or Future Shop to by my electronics

VorpalBunny 01-31-2009 07:34 PM

Try this link:

Welcome to Zero-PC

Prices are in CDN, and even their budget gaming PCs are good value (Q6600 system for around $450 USD). Granted, the video card sucks, but an NVidia 8800 GT / 9800 series 512MB card would add on only another $70, and another $25 for another 2GB RAM. $800 CDN there would build a great AMD/ATI gaming machine, but the $758 E8400 seems like a ripoff compared to the $558 Q6600. Those two processors are about equal (unless you feel like a maniac and overclock the E8400 to over 4GHz), and boosting the rest of the cheaper machine to match specs with the more expensive one would cost no more than $80.

Henreh 02-01-2009 01:30 PM

why get Alienware seriously? Overpriced and most other brands just beat the crap out of it if you know your stuff.

This will last you for some years and you'll enjoy it.

Newegg.com - iBUYPOWER Gamer Extreme 542 Phenom X4 9950(2.6GHz) 8GB DDR2 500GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit - Desktop PCs