ggFTW

MMORPG Gamer Community


Go Back   ggFTW Forum > Off Topic > Computers & Technology

Elsword
Looking for a new MMO?

Try 

Elsword

Rating:  

8.7

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
05-05-2012   #1 (permalink)
「 薬売り 」
Special
Kusuriuri's Avatar
Games
Trickster OnlineEden EternalMapleStoryRagnarok Online
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In your panty drawer.
Posts: 5,160
iTrader: (7)
Kusuriuri has disabled reputation
Send a message via MSN to Kusuriuri Send a message via Skype™ to Kusuriuri
Default Looking for a router

Lol hi.

So, I'm pretty sure our router fried yesterday after a spontaneous power outage, as I no longer have any wireless connection to my desktop or ipod, but the internet is perfectly fine bypassing the router and connecting directly to the modem. Yes, I've tried resetting, etc.


We're most likely going to get a new one at some point, and I want to know ahead of time whether my desktop card may cause conflicts. I have this in my desktop right now, and was wondering what sort of routers would be recommended that shouldn't have an issue with it. I've had some people suggest Netgear (specifically N600 and N300) to me, but that was before I remembered the card, and reviews seem mixed, so idk :T I'm doing the research this time before dad gets some other derpy router on a whim because it's cheaper (the fried one is a Belkin F5D8230-4, go ahead, laugh).

As a side note, I do like to multiplayer on games sometimes (Terraria, Magicka, etc), and the previous router made this a hell and a half to do, even with port forwarding, so if that could be put into consideration too, that would be great >:
__________________

モノノ怪
 
Get rid of this ad by registering for our community.
05-05-2012   #2 (permalink)
Static
Cornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,019
iTrader: (0)
Cornflake is a name known to allCornflake is a name known to allCornflake is a name known to allCornflake is a name known to allCornflake is a name known to allCornflake is a name known to all
Default

i've been pretty happy with d-link routers for the most part. they seem to have a poor router firewall but i have a personal one for that. the router's menu page is straight forward enough and port forwarding has never been a problem.

they are, like your previous router, quite susceptible to power surges. i've had two fry in the past 5 years.
__________________
Mabinogi - Ruairi ch5 - Spliff
 
05-05-2012   #3 (permalink)
200%♥
LauraMix's Avatar
Games
Trickster OnlineDragon Nest
Awards Facebook FanPervert Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,390
Blog Entries: 7
iTrader: (1)
LauraMix has disabled reputation
Default

I would go with Linksys, since I rarely had any problems with it. With the exception of disconnections. But other that, It's all right to me.
__________________

"There is no Real ending. It's just the place where you stop the story." -Frank Herbert
 
05-05-2012   #4 (permalink)
I am a girl. =)
Special
Shugi's Avatar
Games
AuditionCounter-Strike OnlineGunboundHabbo Hotel
Awards MoM AwardTwitter Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 3,271
iTrader: (1)
Shugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond reputeShugi has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Shugi Send a message via Skype™ to Shugi
IGN: Penor
Xfire: shugix
Default

They're mostly the same with like one or two exceptions. I don't know all of them offhand, but Cisco is definitely one of the better brands. The others you see in stores should be similar in performance.

In the future use a power bar so that your electronics don't break during power outages. I personally have two of those home theatre ones for just my computer + related electronics.
__________________
+Rep me if u think i be ballin, u no wat i sayin?

Steam: Shugi | Battle.net: Shugi#1454 | LoL.NA: xShugi | GW2: xShugi.3601
 
05-05-2012   #5 (permalink)
kag
meow
kag's Avatar
Games
Asda StoryLunia
Awards MoM Award
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rodesia
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
kag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond reputekag has a reputation beyond repute
Class: Dacy lu_dacy
Guild: ForielUnion, OurStory
Default

if you want you can actually try to look for another power adaptor which has the same voltage and connector.
__________________

Fanart Anime/Manga Tees at http://www.facebook.com/metronomist

Last edited by kag; 05-06-2012 at 02:42 AM.
 
05-06-2012   #6 (permalink)
「 薬売り 」
Special
Kusuriuri's Avatar
Games
Trickster OnlineEden EternalMapleStoryRagnarok Online
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In your panty drawer.
Posts: 5,160
iTrader: (7)
Kusuriuri has disabled reputation
Send a message via MSN to Kusuriuri Send a message via Skype™ to Kusuriuri
Default

Yeah I think we had ours for only a few years. I remember it being a complete pain in the ass to set up, though partially because of my wireless card too.

Anyway mom bought one while she was at the store today, which I'm a bit disgruntled about because I wanted to have the chance to look them up first and see the general consensus about them before actually buying one. She ended up with the Linksys E900, which I'm sure was due to the $39 Walmart price tag. Mom's one of those that likes to buy the cheapest option available, even if cheapest sometimes means shoddy and low quality. I'm looking around now to see how reviews are for it before I install it, but gd it aggravates me to hell when she just buys electronic shit without doing any damn research.



Edit; Welp, all of our devices like my ipod and mom's kindle connect just fine to the router. So I went to go try and connect my computer, and while it says it's connected to the network, I don't actually have any connection. Can't say I'm surprised, considering all of the internet troubles I'm always having.
__________________

モノノ怪

Last edited by Kusuriuri; 05-06-2012 at 03:30 PM.
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Pockie Ninja
Need a new browser game?

Try 

Pockie Ninja

Rating:  

8.3
Hide this banner by registering for our community.